Seaport Auto Wholesale - Sales Management/Dealership

Milwaukie, Oregon 1 comment

RE: 2003 Chevy Silverado ¾ ton pickup purchased from Seaport Auto on 12/1/2012.

Regarding expenses to pay for repair on the vehicle sold to me on 12/1/2012 after I placed my trust on the line with Seaport dealership regarding the state of condition of the vehicle. I requested and was told unequivocally that this vehicle had undergone a check of its state of repair. This has been proven to be a LIE. To wit:

1. 12/12/12 Inspection by NW Auto- Surge tank has oil residue, removed and cleaned, suspect oil leak on right side head gasket. Other items needing repair listed on invoice: Cost $105.00

a. Rear brakes and rotors badly worn estimated life 25%.

b. Power steering Pressure line from pump needs replacing.

c. Transmission cooler lines are leaking, need replacing, and possible pump seal replacement.

d. Pitman arm has play, likewise for idler arm.

e. Tires have weather checks cracking. Suggest no additional weight until replaced.

2. 12/17/12 Power steering pressure lines replaced by NW Auto. Cost $149.70

3. 12/17/12 Oil Filter $12.34, Air Filter (plugged) $15.99 Fuel treatment $3.99, purchased 3 gallons of HD diesel motor oil Cost 33.42.

NOTE: OIL HAD NOT BEEN CHANGED SINCE UNKNOWN DATE, LIKEWISE FOR AIR FILTER. BOTH WERE BLACK WITH SMUDGE, OIL LOW VISCOSITY Cost $65.74

4. 12/20/12 Purchased spare tire and rim as one not provided with vehicle, (provided own jack) Cost 84.50

5. 12/26/12 Inspection by Cottman Transmission in Vancouver, WA revealed leakage on Front pump seal and transmission cooler lines. Was not covered under “limited” warranty Repaired on 1/9/12 Cost $781.87.

TOTAL SPENT ON VEHICLE REPAIRS TO DATE: $1186.81 (Excludes state taxes paid)

AND THIS IS BEFORE THE FIRST PAYMENT IS MADE!

NOTE: Check engine light had come on 12/3/12 went off on own, came back on 1/4/13. Cottman ran engine check codes, EGR valve is bad, Cost to repair $558.

Due to Seaport's “as is” warranty, printed on yellow paper, (which precisely fits the state of Seaport Auto business in my opinion) they have proven their quality of business is not as advertised “Quality autos”. Instead they are just what the general public hates the most, a used car sales company out to gouge the customer with poor quality, poor repair and hidden costs set to explode on the unsuspecting public as soon as the vehicle is off the lot. No doubt the research done keeps them on the legal side and there is little anyone can do other than default on the loan and ruin their credit, or pay for the repairs themselves.

Potential future costs I am going to incur to have a “reasonably whole vehicle” are as follows:

1. Replace the surge tank (due to the aforementioned oil contamination) Approx $100.00

2. Replace the Heater Control Unit in dash. (digital does not stay set) Approx $ 80.00

3. Replace Drivers side mirror as defrost sensor inoperable (no defrost) Approx $ unknown

4. Replace AM/FM/CD unit. CD is inoperable

Approx $180.00

5. Replace rear brakes and rotors, shocks, idler arm & Pittman arm. Approx $ unknown

6. Replace tires (weather checks are heat cracked, safety issue) Cost used $400

7. Find and fix leak on firewall, Replace all interior carpeting which is moldy Approx $200.00

Some of these issues are safety related, some are mechanical, and some are personal comfort. The truck is not new, or in perfect condition. What I am upset about is the misleading indications that the truck was in good operating condition. Thank you Seaport Management for your consideration in dealing FAIRLY AND TRUTHFULLY.

The other tool in the bag of tricks is to keep calling the customer to see if they purchased yet, listen politely to the complaints, and comment “I will see what can be done” and do nothing but leave a customer hoping for a solution to the problem. We ARE NOT SATISFIED with Seaport Auto. We can and do make a point of telling anyone we know NOT to go to Seaport, either location, Milwaukie or Gresham. We tell them why, present exactly the situation as we have encountered it.

We have seen postings about other dis-satisfied customers who purchased vehicles from Seaport and their cases are just as screwed up as ours.

Apparently they have no qualms in following this methodology of business.

Review about: Unfair Dealer.

Comments

Anonymous
#1162827

They sell car and truck they know have mechanical issues and you back yard mechanics the dealership is a cesspool of drug addicts,and criminals most of there employees are big time dopers and they have some pedophiles working there this is where the guys that can't get a job at a reputable place go to work. BEWARE.

You May Also Like